mail.ch offers various services which are operated via certain protocols.
This can be, for example, the use of an external e-mail program (e.g. Microsoft Outlook or Mozilla Thunderbird) via IMAP/POP3 and SMTP, as well as the use of the mail.ch calendar via an external calendar program.
In order to be able to use your mail.ch account to its full extent, all required protocols are activated by default.
You have the option of defining which protocols you would like to have activated or deactivated in the settings of the webmailer under "Settings > Account > Customer data > Protocol status".
From a security point of view, it makes sense to permanently deactivate unused protocols, as every activated protocol offers potential attackers the possibility of selecting it as a target. For example, botnets could try to guess passwords until they find the right one (brute force). In the event of a successful attack, the attacker could possibly gain access to your mail.ch account via this protocol.
However, if you have deactivated an unused protocol, an attack and thus a potential takeover of your account is no longer possible. If you are using a protocol, you can of course protect yourself against attackers by using a secure password that is as long as possible and consists of upper and lower case letters, numbers and special characters. In addition, you can define a login name in the webmailer settings under "Account/Customer data/Login&Password" that differs from your mail.ch address and is known only to you.
Of course, a deactivated protocol can be reactivated at any time if required.
The following protocols are used by the various mail.ch services and can be activated/deactivated by you::
* e.g. Microsoft Outlook, Apple Mail, Mozilla Thunderbird, iPhone Mail, Android Mail
As soon as a protocol has been deactivated, no connection can be established via this protocol from the outside. External programmes, be it calendars, address books, e-mail programmes or chat programmes, may display various "error messages" in this case. As soon as a protocol is reactivated, a connection is possible again with the corresponding user data.
If you would like to operate the Authenticator App on different end devices, this is possible. All you have to do is use the same Authenticator Secret Code, which you can find in the settings mode of the webmailer under "account/customer data/authenticator".
When operating the Authenticator app, please ensure that the correct time is set on your end device, as the generation of an Authenticator code also uses this parameter, among others.
Note: We recommend that you write down the 16-digit Authenticator Secret Code and keep it in a safe place, as this code will be lost if you delete the Authenticator app or the account within the app. This means that you can no longer create an account without the Authenticator Secret Code and will lock yourself out of your mail.ch account. Should this happen, we can only reactivate your account if you send us your identity card.
All rights reserved. ©2015-2022 by mail.de GmbH